My Photo

Feed Me

Braggin'

« It Is the Best Chocolate Cookie | Main | Golly! »

April 16, 2008

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54ff3fbc1883300e551d86dc88833

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference K-F-P O-B C:

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

scribbins

Just curious... what about them makes them non-kosher? Cookies are amazing by the way!

Oatmeal Cookie Guy

Hi, Scribbins. I'm glad you like my cookies! Ordinarily, cookies are perfectly kosher. (Even the cookies I make that have Bacos are kosher because Bacos are soy based, not pork based.) I'm a Passover novice, but this is how I understand it: there are special rules at Passover that make foods "kosher for Passover." Perhaps the most widely known kosher-for-Passover rule is that foods cannot be leavened, which means nothing baked with yeast, baking soda, baking powder, etc. The part I just learned is about the different kinds of grains that are not considered kosher for Passover. And oats and oatmeal are a no-go. I'm looking forward to learning more about it this Saturday.

Lorraine

I just discovered after reading yesterday's dining section of the NY Times, that quinoa is KOP. It looks like a grain, seems to act like a grain, but actually is some form of a berry. It might be interesting to give that a try. If anyone could, you could!!

Lorraine

The other ingredients commonly used in baking for passover are a combination of matzoh Cake meal and potato starch. Both can be found in the KOP section of the supermarket although this close to passover they're often sold out.

Lorraine

Correction in my previous two comments - When I said "KOP" I meant "KFP" -ie. Kosher for Passover.

Jonnazz

I think that oatmeal not being kosher for Passover has more to do with the obligation of Passover observants to eat matzah and not so much to do with any ingriedient in oatmeal that makes it not KFP (oatmeal by itself doesn't have any leavining ingriedients!) The real question is: Can you make a bitter herb flavor cookie?

Mikael

Oatmeal is kosher for passover as long as the oats were dry heated to kill any bugs on them during processing at the factory. If the oats were debugged with steam, then that product of oats (oatmeal) is a not kosher for passover.

Oatmeal Cookie Guy

Thanks, Mikael. What a great tip! And check out this:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070210095953AASYp4e

I'm going to see if I can find some heat-treated kfp oats right now. Isn't the internet awesome?

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment