Sara wrote in with some information to clarify my confusion about gluten-free oatmeal:
Oats themselves do not contain gluten, but many brands are processed at factories that also process wheat--and thus could still make gluten-intolerant folks ill. However, specifically gluten-free oats are also sold (i.e., processed at a separate facility). So, check the label for the gluten free designation to be safe.
Hi, Sara. Thanks so much for writing in with this info!